Linux RTSP Camera Addresses

Hi All,

I am a newbie to Bluecherry but the software appeals. So I am trying to rejig my system to work with this software.

First up I have to say that my household is exclusively Linux, main machines are Ubuntu 20.04.

My current security camera system has 4 x Hikvision (HiLook) IPC-T250H 5MP cameras connected to a Hikvision (HiLook) NVR-100MH-D/P (8 ports).

I have loaded the Bluecherry Server application on an old Asus 4GB system using the Bluecherry script. This seemed to go well and I then loaded the Client onto the same machine.

The client connects to the server with no errors and is on the same WiFi network as the NVR. However, I am not able to connect to the cameras using using rtsp (or at least I couldn’t see any actual vision from the cameras on the Server or Client).

So I decided to remove the Hikvision NVR completely (which, for me, is more preferrable anyway). To test this I put in a PoE switch and plugged one camera directly into it. Using Linux netdiscover from the Asus machine I was able to determine the cameras IP address. But for some reason I can’t seem to get the right syntax for the rtsp connection to work on my Bluecherry Server / Client setup. The camera(s) have an ‘admin’ user and currently no password (I can see that through the existing NVR software).

I understand that I can use wireshark to obtain the rtsp address, but for this to work the camera(s) must be operating and transmitting data. Only this is a Catch 22 situation for me because I don’t have the correct rtsp details to request a transmission.

I would appreciate if someone could provide some guidance here on how to identify the correct rtsp details on Linux.

I replied on the slack channel, which clearly doesn’t flow through to the forums.

Here is a link which details the stream path:

https://www.ispyconnect.com/camera/hilook