Server purring, but can't discover Jidetech IP cam with client

Hi, I’m new to Bluecherry but not to Linux. I just installed the server (community) on a clean install of Ubuntu 18.04 LTS and it’s up and running, and I’m able to connect to it with a client or a browser. I have an inexpensive Jidetech IP cam that purports to be ONVIF-compliant (Jidetech mentions this in their documentation). But now I’m at a loss, with only ideas. I have a switch that’s hooked up correctly, with power to the cam, but when I try to discover the cam I get no results. Do I need to change the stock/shipped IP of the cam to match my server? (It comes with a mini-CD that I could run on a Windows box to do that if necessary.) I haven’t seen much in the way of documentation at this level. Or is there a way to declare the cam’s IP? If someone could point me in the right direction, I might be able to figure the rest out. I’ve set up a similar IP cam with this switch and a Linux box using FFmpeg and a self-assigned IP address, and that all worked, so I’m not totally inept :D, I just don’t want to fumble forward when I know there are probably just a few steps that I’m missing to configure the cam and then it might just work. Thanks!

Camera detection was broken in 2.8.8. Can you upgrade to version 3 to see if that resolves the issue?

I’ll give it a shot if you think that’s the most logical path at this point. I still have about three weeks to figure this out. I’ll have some time Wednesday eve or Thursday, so I’ll do an upgrade then. Thanks for the reply.

Had a moment during lunch, so I used Synaptic Package Manager to fully uninstall 2.8.8, before installing 3.x, but no joy; still no cam detection. I suspect the next course of action is to take a looksee inside the cam settings. Again, any helpful documentation would be appreciated, i.e., beyond what I’m seeing at https://bluecherry-apps.readthedocs.io/en/latest/ - Adding/Managing info seems limited there.